Known as Pugin's Little Gem, St Andrew's was the first Catholic church built in Cambridge after the Reformation. Opened in 1843 it was redundant from 1890 after its congregation outgrew it and moved to worship in the Church of Our Lady and the English Martyrs in the city.
A congregation established in 1899 in nearby St Ives grew in number while meeting in a small wooden building. In 1902 visionary George Pauling came forward to purchase St Andrew's church and then, remarkably, to transport in stone by stone by barge along the River Cam and Great Ouse to be rebuilt in Needingworth Road in St Ives.
The development of the church, a new church hall and the 100th anniversary are also covered.
Parish priest, Fr Karol Porczak, writes: "The booklet documents the unique history of the Church of the Sacred Heart in St Ives. It is testament to the missionary people, both clergy and laity, who created "Pugin's Little Gem' in the centre of Cambridge as well as the visionary individual responsible for moving the church to the town of St Ives."
To obtain a copy please write a cheque for £2.50 made payable to “The Parish of the Scared Heart” and post it with your name and address to Parish Office, 19 Needingworth, St Ives, Cambridgeshire PE27 5JT.