Pope Francis to join Walsingham in pandemic prayers
April 28, 2021
Little Sisters celebrate Pope’s decision on de Foucauld
May 4, 2021
Show all

Thy Kingdom Come: praying for five to come to faith

Rebecca Bretherton, Diocesan Co-ordinator for the New Evangelisation, is encouraging people to join in nine days of prayer known as Thy Kingdom Come.

This time of prayer for evangelisation is closely linked to the Pentecost Novena, traditionally prayed from the Ascension to Pentecost for a fresh outpouring of the Holy Spirit.

Thy Kingdom Come offers an opportunity to pray alongside those from other Christian denominations for people to come closer to Christ. It aims to inspire and enable practicing Catholics to pray for evangelisation – specifically praying for five members of their family or friends to come closer to Christ.

Bishop Mark O’Toole, Chair of the Bishops’ Conference’s Department for Evangelisation and Discipleship, writes:

“In the weeks leading up to that nine days, have a think about your family, your work colleagues, your friendship circle. Think about five people whom you might begin to have a conversation with about your faith in Jesus Christ. It might be somebody who, during this time of the pandemic, has given up the practise of their faith or somebody who’s searching for deeper meaning because of the experience of disease and death in this past year.

“I think, especially, we want to pray for those five people during the nine days of prayer between Ascension and Pentecost and then in the period afterwards, maybe in July, when things have opened up a little more, look for an opportunity in the parish calendar, maybe a summer barbecue or a tea outside in the parish grounds that you could invite those five individuals to, so that they might begin to make a journey to encounter the Lord Jesus more deeply.”

If you would like to take part, please get in touch with Rebecca Bretherton on evangelisation@rcdea.org.uk

You can read more about Thy Kingdom Come here:


Image from Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales